Copyright © South Carolina Academy of Authors. All rights reserved. 

Mailing address: 701 Gervais Street, Suite 150-195, Columbia, SC 29201



The Academy of Authors wishes to acknowledge and thank the following list of partners, past and present. Through their generous contributions, Academy activities have continued to grow over the last two decades, and we wish to salute those businesses and institutions who enable us to thrive. 

The Academy also wishes to thank public and academic libraries across the state for creating book displays highlighting each year's inductees.

About Us


The South Carolina Academy of Authors was founded at Anderson University in 1986. Its principal purpose is to identify and recognize the state's distinguished writers and to promote their literature's influence on our cultural heritage. Public recognition of our state's literary hall of fame not only serves to increase the general readership of authors working today but also leads to the rediscovery of works from the past.

The Academy board selects new inductees annually whose works have been judged culturally important. Each inductee, whether living or deceased, has added to South Carolina's literary legacy by earning notable scholarly attention or achieving historical prominence.

The Elizabeth Boatwright Coker Fellowship in Short Fiction awards $1500 to the winning South Carolina resident, as does the Academy’s Carrie McCray Nickens Fellowship in Poetry. The Elizabeth Boatwright Coker Student Prize in Short Fiction and the Academy’s Carrie McCray Nickens Student Prize in Poetry each awards $1000 to students enrolled full-time in South Carolina private or public college. Fellowship applications are welcomed each fall.  Competitions are judged anonymously by established out-of-state authors. 

​​Although not a state agency, the South Carolina Academy of Authors benefits from close affiliations with the South Carolina State Library, the South Carolina Arts Commission, and many of the state's colleges, universities, and corporations. Click here for a list of the current Board of Governors.

Anderson University
BMW of North America, LLC
Childs & Halligan, P.A.
College of Charleston
The Emrys Foundation
Furman University
Gardner-Webb University
Historic Columbia Foundation
MassMutual Financial Group
South Carolina Arts Commission
​South Carolina Council for African American Studies
South Caroliniana Library
Spartanburg County Public Libraries
Texas Christian University
University of South Carolina-Aiken
University of South Carolina-Columbia
University of South Carolina-Upstate
Viking Penguin
​Wofford College