2012 Carrie McCray Nickens Fellowship Winner

The South Carolina Academy of Authors is very pleased to announce Kit Loney of Charleston is the 2012 winner of the Nickens Fellowship in poetry, as chosen by this year's judge, Keith Flynn, poet and editor of the Asheville Poetry Review.

Ms. Loney's manuscript was selected out of forty-six submissions. In selecting her work, Mr. Flynn praised her "musical and consistent phrase-making" and further elaborated, "The poet's ability to weave very complicated cosmological ideas with unexpected and vivid imagery created a quiet astonishment of lines that stayed in my mind."

Ms. Loney comes to poetry from a background in visual arts. Her poetry has appeared in a number of Poetry Society of South Carolina Yearbooks, Kakalak, Yemassee, Redheaded Stepchild, Qarrtsiluni, and is forthcoming in Poetry East and Emrys Journal.

Mr. Flynn also cited Kathleen Nalley of Easley and Michael Lythgoe of Aiken as honorable mentions in this year's competition. Mr. Flynn reported that Mr. Lythgoe's poetry was notably "infused with a keen knowledge of high Art," whereas Ms. Nalley's was "commendable for the political commitment of the poems which [was] never over-run by a commitment to the taut discipline of the line."

The Academy wishes to congratulate our winner and honorable mentions and to thank all of those who participated in the competition. Ms. Loney will receive a $1,000.00 prize at a special brunch held in conjunction with the Academy's annual induction ceremony. This year's ceremony will be at Coastal Carolina University in Conway on April 21-22, when Marion Wright Edelman, Franklin Burroughs, Charles Joyner, and the late Mickey Spillane will be inducted into the state's literary hall of fame.

The submission period for the 2013 Fellowship will open next autumn.